A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide history of gurugram

History of Gurugram

Gurugram, the millennium city and one of the most happening cities of the country is located in the National Capital Region (NCR), just 33.4 km away from the Indian capital, New Delhi. The city is a significant urban centre and a commercial hub in the state of Haryana. 

As history of Gurugram unfolds, the city got its initial name from the name of Guru Drona or Dronacharya (imperial teacher to Pandavas and Kauravas). The region was actually presented to the royal guru as dakshina by his disciples, the pandavas (five sons of Pandu).
Gurugram after Independence

The region was then referred as Guru-gram, which can be taken as 'village of the spiritual teacher'. Afterwards, the region gained its present-day name of Gurugram in the natural course of time. Nevertheless, the city still puts up Guru Gram amongst its stunning development. It is apparent that the Gurugram has its roots from the times of Mahabharata (Sanskrit epics of ancient India).

Further, the region of Gurugram was under Akbar's sovereignty, and it was a small town to a subha of Akbar the Great (the most distinguished ruler of the Mughal Dynasty in India) consisting of sikars of Delhi, Suhar Pahari, Tijara and Rewari. 

Conflict between extremities of the same tribal unit contributed to the invasion of the British in the region through the historic treaty of Surji Arjungaon, which was contracted on December 30, 1803 between the British and Daulat Rao Sindhia, head of the Maratha community.

The treaty led the British to occupy the town by posting the mighty horse-mounted cavalry unit to keep an eye on the ground forces of Begum Samru of Sirdhana, whose primary encampment was in the settlement Jharsa.

Subsequently, the region was separated into small governmental units by the British. Several administrative units were afforded to lilliputian heads and conceded as jagirs as an alternative of armed services provided by them. These jagirs were step by step taken up and brought under the arm of British management. In 1858 AD the region was reassigned from the northwesterly states to Punjab.

During the year 1861, the region was put into a new order or arrangement; that is, Rewari, Gurugram, Palwal, FP Jhirka and Nuh.

Timeline of Gurugram History

In the formation of Gurugram since the commencement of the twentieth-century assorted alterations came about in terms of administrative delimitations. 

1911-1921: Ballabgarh was one among the three taluks consisting the former Delhi territory. A
Component of this taluk was reassigned to the Gurugram during the year 1912. This was constituted into the sixth taluk of the dominion with the same mention, that is to say, Ballabhgarh.

1931-1941: Very few alterations came about between Gurugram District and the state of Uttar Pradesh due to actions pertaining to rivers or their surrounding environments.

1941-51: Nine small towns of the region were reassigned to the state of Rajasthan and successively the region acquired with unification of Pataudi and the shift of two settlements from Rajasthan and 78 settlements from Patiala and East Punjab States Union.

1966: The millennium city if Gurugram came under the governance of Haryana with the foundation of the newly formed state.

1972: Rewari taluk was kept out from the Gurugram territory and integrated with Mahendergarh.

1974: Thirty four settlements were kept out from Palwal taluk.

1979: Gurugram was further parted to constitute a new territory viz. Faridabad in which taluks of  Palwal and Ballabgarh of Gurugram were combined.

Quick Facts - Present Day Gurugram

  • State - Haryana
  • District - Gurugram district
  • Total Area - 176.5 sq mi
  • Elevation - 217 m above sea level
  • Governing Body - Municipal Corporation of Gurugram
  • Planning agency - Haryana Urban Development Authority (HUDA)

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries